End of week notes

Ok, quick notes before the weekend.

First, I checked out a Clean Tech job site called Clean Tech Recruits, and it’s actually not bad.  It’s fairly new so there aren’t that many jobs yet, but it’s not full of adds, looks like a usable site and their terms of service seem reasonable enough.  We’re not posting jobs right now, but when we do, we might try posting a couple here.  I’ve had mixed results with other job sites, but these guys seem be trying to make an effort so I’ll give them a chance.  (Some sites repost old listings to make it seem like there are more jobs, and it drives me insane.)

Second, I talked about the plan Google has for mapping renewable resources and I said I would go into detail on why this is great news.  Well, the San Francisco Chronicle explained it better than I could, so check out their article, Google shows alternative energy firms the way.

Third, I was just playing with PVWatts, and they’ve updated their calculator for the new FIT Rates in Ontario, and it’s fairly close to what I calculated for solar panel output and revenue generated.  For a 4 kW array in Toronto on their default settings, it gave a figure of 4332 kWh/year, meaning $ 373.42 (CAN) under the FIT Rates.  (A good solar installer could probably do a little better.)  Not bad, the price is down and that pays for itself in a reasonable window.  Cool.

Anyway, have a good weekend, it’s been a good week but I’m glad it’s nearly over.

2 responses to “End of week notes

  1. Are you a fan of the new Green Energy Act? Are you aware that the plan is to baseload with natural gas?

  2. It’s not a perfect plan, obviously. But we live down wind from Nanticoke, and any plan that shuts that monstrosity down has it’s merits. Renewables have their place in a new energy plan, but solar doesn’t work at night, wind is intermittent, and grid scale batteries are science fiction at best and ecological lead-based nightmares at worst.

    As much as I’d love to change it, our current options for on demand electrical load are natural gas, oil, nuclear or coal. New options are coming technologically, but they’re not here now.

    The OPA, the Ministry of Energy and Infrastructure and OPG looked at the options and elected for natural gas, supplemented by the most aggressive conservation and renewable energy package in North America. No one is pretending it’s the perfect plan, but I am convinced it’s the “least bad” option out of the proposals that actually could work.

    I tried your link, send me a message when your website is up.